Tis The Season…

Image
 
When Thanksgiving came around I was finally able to give into my favorite part of the holidays (expect for the family and loved ones of course) Christmas music!! My car luckily has Sirius radio which means a 24/7 Christmas music channel. I’ve heard some great songs this year and decided to create a list of my Top Ten Christmas Songs. Disclaimer: I hate sad Christmas songs so I didn’t include any. Feel free to comment any songs you think I missed!
 

10. I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus- Jackson 5

Though Jackson 5 has a great Christmas album, ‘I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus’ is my favorite. It showcases a young, playful Michael earnestly getting his brothers to believe he saw their mother kissing Santa. If Michael’s voice isn’t enough the playful banter between brothers is pretty adorable and makes it a must-hear for me. 

9.Dominick the Donkey- Lou Monte
Though not exactly a traditional song, ‘Dominick the Donkey’ is a catchy tune about Santa’s Italian helper. It’s a fun song with ‘get stuck in your head’ type lyrics and great Italian phrases. It definitely makes you want to catch a sight of the famous Christmas donkey!
 
8. O Holy Night- Josh Groban
One of my favorite songs that I discovered this year was Josh Groban’s version of ‘ O Holy Night’. For those who enjoy the more traditional Christmas songs, this song is beautifully sung by Josh Groban.  
 
7. All I want for Christmas is You- Mariah Carey
No Christmas is complete until you hear Mariah Carey’s ‘All I Want for Christmas is You’. Mariah’s classic is the perfect way to put you in the Christmas spirit. 
 
6. Oh Santa- Mariah Carey
Even better, in my opinion, than ‘All I Want for Christmas is You” is Mariah’s newer original song “Oh Santa”. Though not the best Christmas message, it’s upbeat tempo will definitely get you ready for Christmas with the one you love. 
  
5. Baby, It’s Cold Outside- Dean Martin
Of the gazillion versions of this song, I believe nothing tops Dean Martin. His smooth, silky voice makes this song made for him. There are tons of versions with different female counterparts and I haven’t heard a bad one yet! 
4. Celebrate Me Home- Kenny Loggins
This song wins the ‘Most Emotional’ award for me. Besides Kenny Loggins amazing vocals, the message of appreciating home and family and friends gets me every time. 
3. Christmas Time- Christina Aguilera and Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays- N’SYNC
For the #3 song there’s a tie. I love these two songs for the same reason, nostalgia. The 90’s kid in me couldn’t have a list of favorite Christmas songs with out my two favorite musical acts as a kid, Christina Aguilera and N’SYNC. I remember getting their Christmas cds and falling in love with them all over again. ‘Christmas Time’ and “Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays’ were my favorite songs on their Christmas cds. 
 
2. This Christmas- Donny Hathaway
This is another classic song that when it comes on it shouts “Christmas”. ‘This Christmas’ is the perfect example of how everyone wants their Christmas to be which I believe is what makes it so great. It’s the perfect song to get you out of a holiday slump if you find yourself in one. 
 
1. Step into Christmas- Elton John
My all time favorite Christmas song (though I am a little biased because I love Elton John) is ‘Step into Christmas’. I love everything about this song, his voice, the lyrics and the catchy tune. You can’t help but to sing along with him!
 
Those are some of my favorites. If you can think of any more let me know!
 
 
 

Leave a comment